Last time, I posted an explanation of how to print and build the front end assembly of the Y-axis which holds the bearing mount. This time, I’ll look at the same process for the rear-end assembly, which the motor is attached to. This is similar to last time, but a bit easier because the motor mount doesn’t have any moving parts (unlike the bearing).

1. First, repeat Steps 1 – 3 from Part 1 of this series. Print another pair of the Y-axis left and right assembly uprights. The links to the STL files are below:

The STL for the Y-axis left corner mount is here.

The STL for the Y-axis right corner mount is here.

You should have something that looks like this:

Y-axis left and right mounts - back view with nuts

2. Print the Y-axis motor mount. The STL is available from here. A photo of the one I printed is below. I’ve already put in the M3 nyloc nuts into the hexagonal sockets.

motor mount

3. Next I printed two copies of the rear assembly’s rear plate. As I noted before, this isn’t something that is a 3d printed part in the factory kit – but you can get the STL for this here. I printed out a couple of parts, and made sure that one was a mirror image of the other. Then I used acetone to weld the backs of the pieces to each other, and clamped them together (which is shown in the photo below). I also used some nuts and bolts to add some extra clamping force. I left this for a couple of hours before removing the clamps, to allow the acetone to work.

clamping different plates together

4. After a couple of hours, I sanded down the rough edges, and rubbed some acetone around the smoothed edges using a damp cloth. This smoothed the part a lot, and I’ve included a photo of it below.

rear plate after smoothing

5. Next I used some M3 bolts to attach the back plate to the motor mount.

motor mount attached to rear plate

6. Finally, use some M5 bolts to attach the left and right corner mounts printed in Step 1. The finished assembly should look like this:

y-axis rear assembly

The reverse view is shown below:

y-axis rear assembly, from back

Next time, I’ll write about how to use aluminium extrusion to join these two parts together.