I’ve previously blogged about how to set up a Raspberry Pi 3 with the new Windows IoT Core system. One of the things I recommended was that you should connect your Pi to a display device via an HDMI connection.

I chose to use my TV set as the HDMI device – but it became a bit painful to use this after a while, and I’d much rather be able to use my Pi with my Windows 10 laptop as the monitor. Recently, I discovered a way that this is actually possible.

There’s a great guide here – but I’ll run through the steps I went through, and include a few screenshots to describe my experience.

Step 1 – Set up your Raspberry Pi with Windows IoT Core

I posted my experience of doing this here (both successes and failures!). As I wrote in the post, I think it’s necessary to have the Pi connected to a display device during the setup.

Take a note of your Pi’s name – the default is minwinpc, though if you’ve already set up your machine you might have changed this name.

Step 2 – Set up your Pi for remote access

This is a simple step – from your internal network, browse to your Pi’s dashboard through a browser at http://minwinpc:8080. You’ll see a screen like the one below (you might have to enter a username and password, the default is “Administrator” and “p@ssw0rd”):

screenshot.1462568585

In the menu on the left, there’s an item called “Remote” – click on this item to see a screen like the one below. Tick the box named “Enable Windows IoT Remote Server”.

screenshot.1462568635

Step 3 – Download and set up the Windows Store App

You can download the Windows Store App from here – presently this app is only available by a link, so you can’t search for it in the store, but if you click on the link here Windows will open the Store to allow you to download the IoT app.

screenshot.1462569511

Once you’ve downloaded this, open it on your Windows 10 device to see a screen like this:

screenshot.1462569576

You should be able to open the dropdown list of discovered devices, and select your Raspberry Pi. If the item isn’t listed, you can ping your device using a command prompt to get the IP address, and manually enter it into the lower text box.

screenshot.1462569623

Click the “Connect” button. The store app should show the usual Windows spinner, and after a few seconds, you should see a screen like the one below:

screenshot.1462570242

Your resolution might not be as high as the one below – this is 1280 x 800 – you can change the Pi’s resolution through the web administrative interface at http://minwinpc:8080, the supported resolutions are near the bottom of the Home page (see below).

screenshot.1462570443

Summary

You can use a Windows 10 Store app to use a device on your network act as a display for your Raspberry Pi – and this device can also act as a mouse, and a keyboard too. This is an amazingly useful utility if you’re doing Raspberry Pi development – I recommend you check it out.